So Optimistic

being better every day

This week’s oatmeal bar mod November 4, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Beth Ann @ 9:39 am
Tags: , , ,

So a few weeks ago I decided I wanted to make oatmeal chocolate chip cookie bars. I started with this recipe┬ábecause it was one of the first results that popped up in my Google search, and they were delish–I halved the recipe, as suggested at the bottom of the post, and they were basically oatmeal cookies in bar format. Duh. But then I thought about how great these would be for breakfast–they’re very portable and hearty, and it would save me from hitting the vending machine every morning for pop tarts.

Last week I switched the recipe up some to make them less sweet and hopefully a bit healthier. I cut the sugar in half again, but added maybe a quarter cup of Wildwood’s hickory syrup, which is all that was left in the bottle. I also added another half cup of oats, and then a splash of half and half to thin out the suddenly very thick batter. They were much better suited to breakfast than plain cookies, but I’d cut out too much of the sweetness, so I tried again yesterday.

This time around, I went back to 3/4 cup sugar (1/2 c dark brown, 1/4 cup white). I used my Magic Bullet blender (for the first time since I received it last summer, actually) to chop up a small bag of pecans that technically expired last June, but they tasted okay. There was no setting for coarseness, but it worked well–most of the nuts were finely ground, which added to the taste and texture of the bar, but there were a couple dozen larger chunks to bite into. I cut back the oats from last week, to 1 1/4 cup (still more than the original recipe) and again added a little milk. The bars took an extra 15 minutes to cook through this time, though I’m not sure what the culprit was. Anyway, the finished product is the best bar yet–not too sweet, not too dry, and definitely more satisfying than something out of a plastic wrapper.

IMG_2240

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 733 other followers